Announcing the winners of our 2016 biodiversity fellowships to the IUCN World Conservation Congress


Earth Journalism Network,

We are pleased to announce the winners of our fellowships to the 2016 IUCN World Conservation Congress, which we are making available through our Biodiversity Media Initiative in partnership with the Arcadia Fund and the Full Circle Fund of RSF Social Finance.

The IUCN World Conservation Congress is the world’s largest conservation conference. It gathers leaders from governments, civil society and the private sector. Our fellowship programme will focus on ‘the Forum’, which IUCN describes as ‘the largest knowledge marketplace for conservation and sustainable development science, practice and innovation with over 600 sessions addressing a wide range of issues’.

311 journalists applied for the fellowships and we have chosen to support the following 16 fellows.

Marina Gilbert Aizen – Revista Viva, Argentina

Catalina Arevalo – EFE, Spain

Ananda Banerjee – Mint, India

Pablo Hernandez Mares – Mongabay, Mexico

Kevin Dayonga – National Broadcasting Corporation of Papua New Guinea

Priestley Habru – Solomon Island Sun, Solomon Islands

Wanjohi Kabukuru – Indian Ocean Observatory, Kenya

Bernardo Esteves – Piaui, Brazil

Sang Hnin Lian – The Chinland Post, Myanmar

Dev Kumar Sunuwar – Indigenous Voice, Nepal

Cain Nunns – Freelancer, New Zealand

Vathani Panirchellvum – The Sun, Malaysia

Maria Clara Valencia – Indian Country Today Media Network, Colombia

Fidelis Satriastanti – Mongabay, Indonesia

Gaulbert Sutherland – Stabroek News, Guyana

Shi Yi – The Paper, China

Congratulations to all of the winners. We look forward to working with them and sharing their stories.

Read more about our biodiversity fellowships and the Biodiversity Media Initiative.